Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dividing a line into equal segments
Hi there,

I've searched the manual and the forums for a way to divide a line into equal segments and not found anything, which is surprising. Perhaps it's there but it's not called dividing? I found the split line function but that seems to require manually placing the point (or snapping to an existing point/line).

In the particular case I'm looking at I need to divide a line into 3 equal segments. This could be done by splitting the line into three or adding two points at the 1/3 and 2/3 marks, so I can snap to them. More generally I do need a way to divide lines into N equal parts.

I'm new to DeltaCAD so still learning my way around. Sorry if this is covered somewhere already.

Thank you,
David.
(11-19-2021, 04:59 AM)woodspiral Wrote: Hi there,

I've searched the manual and the forums for a way to divide a line into equal segments and not found anything, which is surprising.  Perhaps it's there but it's not called dividing?  I found the split line function but that seems to require manually placing the point (or snapping to an existing point/line).

In the particular case I'm looking at I need to divide a line into 3 equal segments.  This could be done by splitting the line into three or adding two points at the 1/3 and 2/3 marks, so I can snap to them.  More generally I do need a way to divide lines into N equal parts.

I'm new to DeltaCAD so still learning my way around.  Sorry if this is covered somewhere already.

Thank you,
David.

So I found the answer by accident.  It's under the Point menu, 4th button from the left 'Draw mid-points'.  I would never have thought of thirds, for example, as 'mid-points', but perhaps this is a technical drawing term I'm not aware of.   Perhaps the manual could be extended to mention 'division' of the line?