Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Font table update-how to?
Hello DC users. I'm a newbie to the Deltacad world. I find it a great tool for designing simple model aircraft kits. Part of the process in doing this involves laser cutting of material, and in this process I also laser etch part numbers onto the various pieces being cut.

The best font for this is a very simple, single line style such as gdt.shx. This text is then converted into line entities for the laser cutter to run against for the etching process.

I've been developing my layouts in DC using Arial font. To get to the gdt.shx font I then save the part file as a .dxf format and open it up in Turbocad. Here I convert the font style, and also explode the fonts into line entities. This results in the file that is sent to the laser cutting process.

Now Dc 7.0 includes the ability to explode font into lines, much as the Turbocad application does. What is missing is the gdt.shx font in the font table in Deltacad. I would love to keep the whole process in one application, as I find there are data corruption issues in going from Dc to Tc (or so it seems).

My question to the group is how easy would it be to get this font added into the tables for my copy of dc? Have any of you added font styles to your application? I know it requires true type fonts as the standard, and I see stuff for sale to download. I've never added a font style to any application-is it difficult to do?

Any feedback is appreciated!

Clint Brooks
http://www.cbmodeldesigns.com
Hoogie,

This one is beyond me. I had hoped to find an *.ini file that made reference to the font table but none exist. I'll step down and see what others say about this. If no help is found here you might try Midnight Software, the developers of Deltacad, to help you as well.