Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
how do you make radi easy?
Hi all. A newbee here. I am a machinist and bought a cnc mill now I am trying to figure out how to draw and export to cad to make g code.
I am getting too old to learn I think. This seems so hard to teach myself.
I am having a heck of a time trying to put a radius on corners. I played with solid edge and it is super easy but I have lots of other problems but I can make radi!.
What am I missing here? It cant be hard. It seems like I have to manually figure out each x and y piont.This is taking tooo long.. Thanks Alot. Jim
Welcome to the group, "biglathedog". Smile

I'll get back to you on this tomorrow, unless one of the others beat me to it by then.
(10-30-2009, 05:54 PM)The Boss Wrote: Welcome to the group, "biglathedog". Smile

I'll get back to you on this tomorrow, unless one of the others beat me to it by then.

Ill be waiting anxiously. Thanks!
Jim,

Are you just learning G&M Code, or are you a CNC Machinist by trade? What CNC Mill have you purchased? Is it a commercial mill?

I use Deltacad to teach G&M code in my classes but I think you are looking for a CAM program to generate G&M code without having to manually write it out, is that correct? If so a CAD program, such as Deltacad, is not the answer to your problem, however, there are ways to generate G-code from DXF files that Deltacad does generate, here is a link that lists a few dxf to G-code generators. In my opinion this type of output is a little risky, since there is no simulated verification.

If your machine can do "subs" (M97 or M98 subroutine/subprogram calls) you are better off programming by hand anyway because your programs would be much shorter and easier to edit. I will be adding a CNC training course shortly and will include many helpful features that can benefit new programmers (like starting templates, etc.) You may find that beneficial.