Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
Determine corner Radius?
Hello all,

I'm new to DeltaCAD and very impressed how easy the usage is. I'm recreating an engine mount bracket. I used Edit tab > Create A Radius tool to round off the corners. What is the best way I can determine the corner radius of this bracket to input the correct numeric values in DC?

Thanks

Good one!

This would be a great addition to my videos!Shy

Gotta ask you this before I answer the question, then I may answer with another video.

Here is the question: Are you going to import the actual picture into your drawing so that you can trace around it with lines and arcs, or are you measuring it first and creating lines and arcs based upon those measurements?

Chris
Question 
I'm actually measuring. I was considering tracing, scanning and importing a JPEG, wasn't sure which would be the best route or how easy to scale the drawing. I'm new to CAD but I have used 2D/3D CGI software on Commodore Amiga (very long time ago) and have done the image trace in the past.

To answer your question I would do which ever one is faster and more accurate. I was loaned the part until next weekend so I'm open for suggestions Kemo Sabe. Smile
Definietly not faster, but I've used graphpaper to trace an actual object and then created the same grid, using a different color than the 'permanent' final drawing, and then just plotted all the intersecting points on the DeltaCad grid. Then I refined the drawing after removing the reference grid.

keep in mind that it was a much more complicated shape than what you're duplicating because it had multi-compound-radius curves and only two truly straight sections.

I have an idea on how to duplicate the radii of the actual object but I'll let our 'educator' handle that as he will probably explain it better than I. Wink
I've tried two methods for this sort of thing -
1. Scanning in as an image and then 'tracing' the part or: