Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 2 Average
New to the Forum
I have been using DeltaCad for about 5 or 6 years to do small blueprints and things like that.Nothing to complicated.I am now starting a laser business and getting a lot deeper into Delta Cad.I am using DC to design all of my products.I have just started reading this forum last week.I do have a lot of questions but want to read the forums first.I am learning lots from this.The one question I would like to go ahead and ask is:Is there any way to outline a group of text or would I have to draw the outline?
bw5then,

Deltacad will not automatically outline your text for you, it's not designed for that. However, you can save your text image as a "raster" image (bmp,jpeg) and use other software to create "vectors" (measurable lines points and arcs).
I use VcarvePro, and MastercamX3 to convert these raster images to useful, scalable images. The cost of these software products are a bit pricey, so you may want to search the web for a more attractive option. I did a little search myself to see if i could find something and found a shareware title called "Acme Traceart". I don't know what the cost was but played with it enough to get out of it what you were looking to get (although I didn't like the results. The text lines were too choppy I thought). You may be able to find some free source software at places like http://sourceforge.net/ or other similar sites, or even find software suitable for laser engraving that you could easily incorporate into your business.
Still, I always seem to do my drawings in Deltacad and export them into the other programs regardless of the capabilities of the other programs.

Hope you can find a suitable program

Chris "i44troll"

"bw5then",