Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Connecting lines
Hi DeltaCad help folks,

Pardon my silly question as I'm new to Cad programs. I downloaded your manual and drew the calculator (such a good idea, by the way.... i was up and using the software for my projects in less than an hour).

I drew a bunch of parts up to send off to a CNC plasma cutting shop that will be brackets for a project were working on. I'm curious... is there an inverse operation to a split in delta cad? Or an inverse operation to "create lines" when you go to edit>shape (square)> convert to lines? I'm just curious because I have a feeling the shapes I have drawn will end up being a bunch of disconnected lines that are not friendly to the G-Code generator.

thoughts? Thank you for your help. (I did search the FAQ first, btw, but I might not know what to call the operation I'm trying to do)
Welcome, hivizleds

As far as I know, there's no DeltaCad function for connecting existing lines to form a single entity. However, as so often in DeltaCad, there's an easy way to achieve the same end. In the following, I hope I've understood your question correctly:

Let's assume you've drawn a square or rectangle as separate lines. Go to 'Shapes|Draw a rectangle using two corners' and draw a new rectangle exactly over your lines. Next, send your new rectangle to the bottom of the Z-order (think X/Y/Z axes) with Edit|Z(down arrow). Your original individual lines will now be visible on top and can be erased, leaving the single-entity rectangle.

For more complex shapes, 'Shapes|Draw a polygon' can be used. These techniques are useful anyway for when you need to Fill or Hatch.

By the way, to clear up a misunderstanding, this forum has no direct connection with Midnight Software, the designers of DeltaCad. We have their kind approval, but we're just a bunch of enthusiasts.

Regards
John