Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 2 Average
create symbol
I'm new to deltacad I have worked with SDRC "Ideas" for a long time which seems very similar. I want to simply draw a small detail and load it into the symbols library so that I can use it any time. The help function tells me to load it on to clipboard via the copy function. I do this and then go to the library and "add symbol". Nothing happens ! Seems like should be easy. Can anyone lead me thru? Thanks Bill
Hi Bill and welcome to DeltaCad User's Group,
  • ‘Select” and then ‘Copy’ the object you want to save as a ‘Symbol’
  • Go to ‘Files, and in the drop down menu select ‘Symbols’
  • In the ‘Copy symbols to clipboard’ menu select the file where you want the symbol added (or add a new file by using the “New Symbol File” button in the lower left corner).
  • Give you symbol a name in the ‘File name:’ drop down menu (just select with cursor and key in the name desired)
  • Click “Add Symbol”. Your new symbol will be saved as a symbol from the clipboard.

Hope this helps
Welcome to the forums, Bill.

'williamj' pretty much nailed it....

Just make sure you're using the Copy option in the Edit drop-down menu at the top to copy the file to the clipboard and NOT clicking on the Edit tab, which will 'un-select' the highlighted selection leaving 'nothing selected' to copy.

Hint: If you have a bunch to do, learn the keyboard short-cuts as given in the drop-down menus at the top.

If you have a bunch of basic drawing components on a single drawing page, you can knock out quite a few in short-order -- once you get a rhythm going. --- That's how I did the Osborne Wd Products.sym file, after I had imported, converted and combined them all on a single drawing page, that is. Wink